Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Default Old lathe going NOW!!

This looks good value at <$500

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI....m=200248989241

(I have no connection with or knowledge of this itm)

Bill
    Chipslinger

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

Quote Originally Posted by billrule View Post
    This looks good value at <$500

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI....m=200248989241

(I have no connection with or knowledge of this itm)

Bill
    Much distance

(looks good Bill)

Tis well worn...When Nuttall's wear a fair bit the saddle rubs on the bed between the main V and the tailstock flat way..However would be OK for home use...Also I would be wary of the tapered bearing conversion...Spindle design is not something you can just slap a few tapered rollers in...In fact lathe spindles generally don't use tapered roller bearings as they are not suitable for that application...But again they would probably be fine in this job...

RC,

Not wishing to take you to task, but, many lathes do use taper roller bearings in the headstock, and are perfect for the job.

For example, Hercus use a large taper roller bearing in the front of the headstock, and a smaller one at the rear. This was an option over the plain bushes and work extremely well.

The advantage of taper roller bearings is that they are self centering, and when nipped up correctly, eliminate end drift.

Ken

Hi Ken, I originally thought tapered rollers would be ideal as spindle bearings but then after reading this thread it would seem a combination of cylindrical roller, angular and thrust bearings are preferred where they can be fitted... "http://www.practicalmachinist.com/vb/showthread.php?t=163580"

Hi Guys,

This is my first post on this forum, so please go easy :)

I won this lathe, and have just arrived home with it, and will be getting it out of the trailer and putting it together tomorrow.