Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Default Newbie with handplanes

Let me first start with two statements:
    - I have done a search and I have read all of the excellent advice on this forum; and
    - I am a newbie to handplanes and am branching out with a bit of experimentation.

Questions:
    - I have started my collection with a LN4 1/2. I played with some Aussie hardwoods including Iron Wood and Black Butt and noticed some tearout. In a previous post, Derek talks about the virtues of a higher blade angle for Aussie hardwoods. LN offer a higher angle frog (50 deg) and I was wondering of anyone has had experience with this.
    - Given my extreme lack of experience with handplanes, can anyone provide a reference (school, video, book ...) that deals with technique etc (I've seen The Handplane Book mentioned a few times. Is this "the reference")?.

As ever, your advice is gratefully appreciated.

Regards,
    Mike.

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

Hi ya Mike

Forget about LN hand planes for HARD Australian timbers, the Yanks don't work with anything that approaches that hardness.

For a plane that is DESIGNED for Australian hardwoods try HNT Gordon Planes

I bought a smoothing plane to use on some curly Black Wattle and was amazed with the results. I now have 3 of his planes and would recommend them wholehartedly.

The only thing you need is a willingness to learn how to adjust them and a good sharpening technique (I use water stones)

I hope this helps
    Cheers

Major Panic

Mike

Listen to MP - he may be a raving lunetic but he is correct and I back him with regards the HNT Gordon planes. I also have several and they are the best standard planes for our native hardwoods (although Karri defeats everything).