Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Thread: new to carving

Default new to carving

hi everyone, im pretty new to carving since they didnt teach us anything about it at high school and im hoping to do a short course in dwellingup soon if they can get numbers. Ive done some simple things like basic flowers and leaves and also patterns involving dreishnitt and sechsschnitt triangles. I was just wondering how often chisels, gouges, knives etc should be sharpened on average, i know that it vary's with different timbers but a rough estimate??? and also what are the best timbers to practice carving on? i have a huge pile of jarrah floor boards i can use and a fair bit of sheoak, marri and pine but dont mind buying certain timbers if they are better to learn with.
    cheers for any help.
    Toby...

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

Quote Originally Posted by driftit View Post
    hi everyone, im pretty new to carving since they didnt teach us anything about it at high school and im hoping to do a short course in dwellingup soon if they can get numbers. Ive done some simple things like basic flowers and leaves and also patterns involving dreishnitt and sechsschnitt triangles. I was just wondering how often chisels, gouges, knives etc should be sharpened on average, i know that it vary's with different timbers but a rough estimate??? and also what are the best timbers to practice carving on? i have a huge pile of jarrah floor boards i can use and a fair bit of sheoak, marri and pine but dont mind buying certain timbers if they are better to learn with.
    cheers for any help.
    Toby...