Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default SIP Topmig 170 turbo

Hey all,
    I'm new to welding and really must do a course, but I am aware that since my main interest is in alloy boats (tinnys and runabouts more so than plate alloy!!) that a MIG welder will be of more benefit eventually.

I've come across a SIP Topmig 170 turbo being sold locally for $300. Am I correct in assuming these seems like a good price for what seems like a half decent machine?

2 other questions - apparently the tension bolt to control the spool is broken, however seller claims this doesn't effect operation....does it? Is the bolt in question replaceable?

Lastly, I'm under the impression this is sold as a gas machine, and I know proper bottles are the better way to go, but initially at least I want to be able to use those small chuck away 'canisters' - can I on this machine?

I've been keeping my eye out for a while but it seems the machines are either only 100amp (or even 90), gasless, too expensive or too far away. Hoping this might be the one.....

Oh, its 8 or 9 years old by the way.

Thanks all.

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

My brother has a SIP and he's not happy with the wire-feed.

Thanks Rossluck.

Anyone else know about these machines? I know there are some welding experts on here.

Quote Originally Posted by abitfishy View Post
    SIP Topmig 170 turbo being sold locally for $300. Am I correct in assuming these seems like a good price for what seems like a half decent machine?

2 other questions - apparently the tension bolt to control the spool is broken, however seller claims this doesn't effect operation....does it? Is the bolt in question replaceable?