Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Improving a cheap table saw

After reading some positive reviews, have just bought a cheap Aldi (Taurus) 10 inch table saw ($219). I am under no illusions that this is a fine woodworking tool, but it is better than nothing, fits my budget, and you have to start somewhere!

Overall, I'm happy enough with it for the money, but it does have one glaring shortcoming - the slop in the mitre gauge (in the track) is truly appalling, something I will have to address to make that feature useable.

Being a complete newbie when it comes to table saws, I don't know what my range of options is. I have looked at the Incra V27 mitre gauge, but this might be overkill for a cheap saw, and I also wonder if it would fit, as I don't know if the slot/track is a standard size. It is an inverted "T", the wide cross section is approx 20.25mm x 4mm deep, and the narrow part is around 16.5mm x 2mm deep.

Would the Incra work for this saw, or are there other options available to me?
    Last edited by Foris; 7th November 2008 at 11:48 AM. Reason: Edited to correct typo (size)

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

I think a standard mitre track is 3/4 x 3/8 or 19mm x 10mm. I don't think a standard gauge will even go close.
    A crosscut sled may be a better option.

Can you post a pic of the mitre gauge, and the track. Someone might have a way of improving the runner on the gauge to solve you problems.

A miter gauge is just a protractor on a batten. You've got a protractor which probably works ok, so just make a new batten, or widen the one you've got.