Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default hot water system

I'm new to this .. Have many things to ask, but the key one at the moment is-can I fix my electric HWS without paying the plumber? It is not young, but the thermostat has already been replaced and it is still heating up. I turned it off for the summer months and now the water simply will not come out of the taps. Is there something simple that I can buy and install to get the water flowing again?
    Thanks in anticipation.
    Gaynor.

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

G'day.

More info pls.
    When you say "I turned it off for the summer months..."
    What did you trun off?
    The power to it, the water to it, or both?
    It may just be a stuck washer in the water tap.
    To find that out, first, turn your main water supply to the building off & take the tap into the HWS apart & see if the washer is stuck in the seat.
    Cliff.
    If you find a post of mine that is missing a pic that you'd like to see, let me know & I'll see if I can find a copy.

Default Hot Water System

Wow! A quick response. Hmmm..I turned off the power for the summer months. I don't think that is the problem. Both the shower outlet and the handbasin have no hot water coming out-so it can't be a stuck washer, I think. Still, I can check. So far I've been using buckets of hot water mixed with cold for showers and stood round feeling helpless...well, not quite-I did check to see if it could be the thermostat.
    Gaynor.

Gaynor, this may be a silly question but have you checked to see if the water inlet tap is open?

As far as getting by without consulting a plumber.. I think that will not be an option.

Good luck anyway.

Kev.
    I try and do new things twice.. the first time to see if I can do it.. the second time to see if I like it
    Kev

Quote Originally Posted by Gaynor