Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Swiss chisels

Question Swiss chisels

G'day everyone

Thanks for the welcome from Ed Reiss and Munrubin. Munrubin suggested I pose my question to the carving forum.

I am new to the carving game and am in the process of buying some carving chisels. I was looking at some second-hand ones which look very nice and had SWISS MADE on the handles with two numbers separated by a forward slash immediately after (eg SWISS MADE 2/25, SWISS MADE 12/10). The numbers were also inscribed on the throat of the chisels. Is anyone able to give me the make or brand from this description and also an opinion of the possible quality of these chisels? Are all swiss made chisels good quality?

I think I have managed to upload a picture of these chisels as well to aid in identification ( I know a picture is worth more than a 1000 of my words).

Thanks

Grant

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

No, not all Swiss made chisels are worth their asking price; in a test of bench chisels done by Fine Woodworking there were some surprises re the quality of some top brands.

You can get a short term sub to the FWW website and access all their back articles. IIRC USD5 for a month.
    Cheers, Ern

Default Thanks

Thanks mate.

I thought that may be the case. From the searching I,ve done it appears a lot of the newer chisels aren't as good a quality as those from many years ago.

Cheers

Grant

Quote Originally Posted by Grunter53 View Post