PDA

View Full Version : Cheater's Murgh Makhani (Butter Chicken)

Woodwould
23rd July 2009, 04:11 PM
I'm an excellent cook (so I've been told http://www.woodworkforums.com/picture.php?albumid=286&pictureid=2704) and I really used to enjoy cooking and entertaining. These days I can't stand for too long, so I have devised several cheater's recipes which, while not remotely authentic, are passable counterfeits of some well known (and some not so well known) dishes.

Nothing beats the aroma of roasting herbs and spices in preparation for making bona fide Murgh Makhani, but adaptation and modification are crucial to my existence which is how I came up with this quick and simple version.

Serves two.

Ingredients:

500g boneless, skin-off chicken.
Juice of 1 lime.
430g can of Campbells Rich Tomato Condensed Soup (or 350g of tomato puree and 100ml of cream).
200ml pot of plain yoghurt.
1/2 tsp red chilli powder (adjust to taste).
2 tsps garam masala.
1 tsp coriander powder.
1 tsp cumin powder.
8 peppercorns.
4 cloves.
1 stick of cinnamon.
4 cardamom pods.
2 bay leaves.
1 onion, chopped.
2 tsps garlic paste.
50g butter.
Salt to taste.
Fresh coriander.

Preparation:

Cube the chicken.
Put everything into a slow cooker for eight or nine hours.

Serving:

Serve on Basmati rice and garnish with fresh coriander.

http://www.woodworkforums.com/picture.php?albumid=286&pictureid=2674

bsrlee
24th July 2009, 11:05 PM
Interesting technique - it will save me having to buy the pre-mixed spice packs.

The most amusing thing about Butter Chicken is that it is authentic Mancunian cuisine - invented in Manchester England a few decades ago by some Indian restaurants there and enthusiastically adopted all over the world. Just ask Mahdur Jaffrey.

Ben from Vic.
24th July 2009, 11:53 PM
Put everything into a slow cooker for eight or nine hours.

If you don't have a slow cooker would a heavy based pot work, perhaps requiring a shorter cooking time?

Have you tried a pressure cooker?

Woodwould