PDA

View Full Version : making goblets???

sailormark45
8th August 2009, 03:20 AM
Hi Roomies. I am a newbie on wood turning ..I used to be a machinist on metal lathes. But am having a ball watching the wood chips fly... Looking for a good steady rest I can make myself for hollowing out goblets etc Thanx in advance.
mark in TEXAS

Ad de Crom
8th August 2009, 04:16 AM
Hi Mark, welcome.
For a machinist like you is it a piece of a cake to make a steady rest.
Three wheels of an in line skate, and some handy work, and ready you are.
You can turn a goblet without using a steady rest, by first making the cup, and with the help of your tailstock as a help for supporting the hollowed cup, the rest.
Have fun.
Ad

Ed Reiss
8th August 2009, 12:45 PM
Hey Mark...welcome to the asylum.:2tsup:

This might help

http://woodwhispererforum.com/gallery/showphoto.php?photo=110

munruben
8th August 2009, 01:35 PM
Welcome to the forum, great to have you aboard:2tsup:

pommyphil
8th August 2009, 08:18 PM
I've been making goblets from grean limbs. so long as they're fairly concentric get no cracking or distortion as they dry, tried Giant Privet, White Cedar and Mulberry thus far with no problems, great practice.

I thought he meant a steady TOOL rest.

Maybe very long stemmed goblets:-

Skew ChiDAMN!!
8th August 2009, 08:39 PM
Any thin-stemmed goblet over about 7" high really needs a centre-steady. Otherwise the odd against it surviving to completion increase exponentially. :;

I've used both string-steadies around the top of the stem/base of the bowl and wheeled steadies around the wider part of the bowl.

As Ad said, you can use wheels from in-line skates, although I prefer a smaller diameter wheel (from roller skates or skate-boards) because I generally work on small items. Whatever you use, make sure they're a good neoprene rubber and have roller-bearings. Otherwise they'll have to be replaced so soon it's ridiculous.

rodent
11th August 2009, 02:01 PM