PDA

View Full Version : TTIT's shot

TTIT
10th August 2009, 02:33 PM
I wasn't going to post this until I finished because of the extreme likelihood that it will all go to s#!t but as TL said, it's about challenging ourselves and showing how we overcame obstacles regardless of the outcome. I don't know if this will work aesthetically, but I came up with the idea because it would challenge me at several levels with things I haven't tried before...
(a) Accuracy
(b) Following templates
(c) Accuracy
(d) Lattice work
(e) more accuracy:no:

So much happening my end at the moment I don't know if I'll get it finished but this is what I've done so far.

1. 2 chunks of Scrub Leopardwood 100x99x50 (like I said, I'm not good with accuracy:;) Chosen because it is the densest, light coloured timber I have and I reckon it needs to be light coloured to show the detail I'm planning.

2. The templates - cut from hi-tech cereal boxes using my home-grown 'circle-knife'.

3. Chucked. Was originally going to mount the blanks on a faceplate but the big
dovetail jaws on the Vermec just opened up enough soooo...

4. First half hollowed - shocked myself by getting it so close to the template!!!

5. Dodgie eyesight and a shaky hand made marking out the grooves a bit iffy so I made this little gauge out of Laminex. It checks the sizing of the groove I'm cutting (2x2mm) and gives me the starting point of the next groove (the little black line).

6. That's the easy bit done.:U

Waldo
10th August 2009, 02:40 PM
:2tsup: I like the start of this one.

Skew ChiDAMN!!
10th August 2009, 03:00 PM
Templates? Laminex? Accuracy?

This doesn't sound like an exercise in turning at all! It sounds like you've taken all the fun, the excitement, the "Oh God! I hope it doesn't hit me in the head when I poke it with this pointy stick!" out of it. :~

Actually, I'm intrigued. :U

ElizaLeahy
10th August 2009, 03:49 PM
Interesting!!!

Sawdust Maker
10th August 2009, 04:48 PM
Yep I agree, "interesting"