PDA

View Full Version : Greenwood work anyone out there?

greens
14th August 2009, 04:16 AM
About 12 years ago, I studied greenwood work in the West Country of England.
I am no expert, but am passionate about this quiet and friendly way of turning and working with wood.

Is anyone out there who is interested/working in this way?

hughie
14th August 2009, 09:31 AM
About 12 years ago, I studied greenwood work in the West Country of England.
I am no expert, but am passionate about this quiet and friendly way of turning and working with wood.

green as in freshly cut unseasoned timber? If so then most of us have done so continue to do so. :2tsup:

tea lady
14th August 2009, 10:05 AM
some have also had a go on pedal powered lathes. Would love to have a go, cos I ike the idea of knowing what to do after civilisation as we know it colapses.:rolleyes: And quiet would be good. :cool:

Would love to see what you have done.:U

mobjack68
14th August 2009, 01:46 PM
I have turned wet/green wood. It is a hoot!! You can cut about 3 times the amount with each revolution, tools stay sharp longer, cuts easier, cleaner and the curls just fly.

Gil Jones
14th August 2009, 03:26 PM
Most of my turning is on green (wet or pretty wet) wood, and would not have it any other way.

Ad de Crom
14th August 2009, 04:10 PM
I like it to turn green wet wood, easier than dry wood.
Ad

issatree
14th August 2009, 04:31 PM
Hi All,
I'm afraid Green Wood is not for me unfortunately, as I break out in a rash, & severely at that.
I have watched several others use it, & I've seen the likes of Richard Raffan, with stacks of 1/2 turned Bowls, just sitting there air drying

I did 6 Church Bowl a few years ago, & I Microwaved them all in one Day.
They Turned out OK, & the Church was pleased.
Regards, issatree.

greens
14th August 2009, 07:22 PM
'Tis good to hear from those interested in this beautiful way of working.
Thanks for responding.