PDA

View Full Version : Organising your timber collection ...

Afro Boy
1st September 2009, 08:42 PM
How do you all do it?

I have this impressive habit of not throwing out any wood at all. Now I'm in the situation where I don't know what I have and need to do some organising. So I'm wondering, how do you folk here organise all your bits of wood?

Currently I have 5 shelves of 2300 x 450, but it's a disorganised mess. A few plastic tubs of offcuts that I never go through to pick out any good bits and all sorts of other bits under the workbench and wherever else it fits. :C

Photographs very much appreciated!

Cheers,
Af.

artme
2nd September 2009, 12:17 AM
Ha! My son calls me an "anal retentive Bower Bird" Don't know whether I'm insulted or proud.:rolleyes::rolleyes::wink:

From what you say of yourself you are a complete novice when it comes to retention of bits for Ron ( later (r)on ).:D:D:p

Skew ChiDAMN!!
2nd September 2009, 12:37 AM
Organise?

:think: I have a carport, which is almost fully occupied with stacks of sheet-goods. MDF, various plys, etc. With a few planks stored on top, where & when they'll fit. Also a couple of tea-chests full of pen planks and several drums 'n boxes of small offcuts.

My slabs are currently leaning in the front of my "shed," (read: "garage" ...until I pull the finger out and build something else) but sadly have to be moved every time I want to access my table saw.

Planks of assorted sizes are stored on the shed floor, with boxes of crap piled on top. (I pretend it's to keep the boards flat, but it's really 'cos I've nowhere left to put either the timber or the boxes of crap. :rolleyes:)

As for my turning blanks... well, that's what's called the backyard. In racks, stacks and a couple of plain ol' piles. Except for my "select" blanks, which are literally filling every spare space left over in any of the above-mentioned sheltered locations.

And this is after throwing out several cubic metres when we moved house... :sigh: