PDA

View Full Version : Carrying chisels

smidsy
1st August 2004, 06:48 PM
Hei Guys,
Anyone got any ideas on carting chisels around - I go to a woodturning group once a week which means carting my chisels around.
I've got one of the carbatec HSS chisel sets which has a carry case, but I now have two other chisels which don't fit in the case.
I thought about a cloth roll type thing but having the chisel heads clanging together does not really appeal to me.

Any ideas?
Cheers
Smidsy

Shane Watson
1st August 2004, 06:58 PM
The roll type work very well for Chefs, so theres no reason why it couldn't be adapted to work well for turing chisels as well. :D

RETIRED
1st August 2004, 07:49 PM
Most use a partitioned canvas roll.

If I remember I will take a pic tomorrow.

journeyman Mick
1st August 2004, 10:52 PM
I'm a carpenter, not a turner but I keep all my (better) chisels in a leather roll. I'm not sure if you can get leather rolls large enough for turning chisels but if you can and you decide to use one, here's a tip. Wash it out thoroughly before use in several changes of fresh water, dry it and soak it in neatsfoot oil. I used mine as it came and the residues of whatever they use to tan the leather caused my chisels to rust overnight :mad: . Initially I just oiled it but it didn't solve the problem and it wasn't until I washed it thoroughly that the chisels stopped rusting. You would expect a bit better from a $30+ dollar roll (this was about 15 years ago too, wonder how much they cost now?)

Mick

DavidG
1st August 2004, 11:00 PM
A bucket full of bits of plastic pipe just large enough to take the tool (38 - 50mm) and long enough so the tool does not want to fall out. Stuff a bit of oily rag in the botton to protect the cutting edge.

Ankali
2nd August 2004, 05:18 PM