PDA

View Full Version : Paperbark

Sawdust Maker
30th October 2009, 04:22 PM
I've a feeling that one or two paperbark trees may be felled locally to make way for a development. More's the pity:((
Does anyone know if paperbark timber is any good for turning - does it look good etc
If any good I'll see if I can grab some
Thanks

Ozkaban
30th October 2009, 05:15 PM
Hi SM,

I think paperbarks are Melaleuca's. I chopped some up for firewood and it was a nice dense, dark reddy/brown heartwood with blonde sapwood. I think from memory that it splits like $#@!% while drying, but I could be wrong. The stuff I played with looks nice and seemed to turn OK (I can't even remember what I turned out of it...). Of couse there always seem to be 50 species all called the same thing and I am no tree expert!

Cheers,
Dave

david devine
30th October 2009, 06:01 PM
paperbark can be very nice timber has colouring not unlike jarrah but needs to be stacked for drying properly with some weight on the top peice and the ends sealed completely,because it does like to split and cup.

good luck
another Dave

Brisruss
30th October 2009, 07:30 PM
I have been turning some paperbark and it is really good. It has a good dense grain and has a nice colour and pattern. They are all unfinished except for one that has bees wax on it.
I don't think the photos do it full justice.
It came from a tree in our front yard and the guy who cut it down slabbed it for me. These are some of the odd bits that were left over.

Cheers,
Russ

dai sensei
30th October 2009, 07:38 PM
Most hardwoods are worth keeping. There are many paperbark species with many colours. The ones in the Melaleuca swamps around here are a creamy yellow/brown.

rsser
30th October 2009, 09:02 PM
Had a few bits. Damn hard to dry; if you plan to rough out a bowl be careful to centre it in relation to the pith and anticipate it going very oval.

Texian
31st October 2009, 11:11 AM