PDA

View Full Version : Silly Question on Chucks?

skot
8th November 2009, 07:37 PM
Hope this doesn't turn out to be in the catergory of "Obvious Stupid!"...

When I purchased my lathe (2nd hand),I got a VM100 chuck with standard jaws and also got a set of Dovetail Jaws & Shark Jaws and have since purchased some Cole Jaws.....now for the stupid question.........................
In a world of endless cash should I have a chuck for each of these jaws to avoid swapping over or do the regular turners on this forum believe you can get by with 1 or 2 chucks.

Pat
8th November 2009, 07:40 PM
Well I have 5 chucks and about 10 sets of jaws . . . but have two set up with the most used jaws (50mm jaws & 25mm pin jaws) and frig around with the other jaws when needed . . . Cole jaws are the next most used.

I am not a pro, just been in the right place at the right time:U

Ozkaban
8th November 2009, 07:41 PM
Hope this doesn't turn out to be in the catergory of "Obvious Stupid!"...

When I purchased my lathe (2nd hand),I got a VM100 chuck with standard jaws and also got a set of Dovetail Jaws & Shark Jaws and have since purchased some Bowl Jaws.....now for the stupid question.........................
In a world of endless cash should I have a chuck for each of these jaws to avoid swapping over or do the regular turners on this forum believe you can get by with 1 or 2 chucks.

The easy answer is yes, and yes.

Comes down to two questions. 1. How much cash do you have? and 2. Do you really mind changing the jaws?

the rest is up to you!

Cheers,
Dave

skot
8th November 2009, 07:44 PM
Thought that may be the case of getting more chucks...may have to save my pennies and purchase some more VM100 chucks...I guess i am impatient when it comes to changing over the jaws.

Pat
8th November 2009, 07:51 PM