PDA

View Full Version : Intro and First Project

WardloW
7th December 2009, 10:31 PM
I've been lurking for some time now on these forums and its about time I introduced myself. I work as a mechanical designer and have taken up welding as a hobby since it's a practical outlet relevant to my work and there's a number of projects I have in mind that require the skill.

A few months back I did a MIG welding course at Chisholm TAFE in Dandenong (highly recomended) and upon use of their Lincoln equipment decided to buy one myself. I purchased a 180c and couldn't be happier. It's so easy to use and weld quality is comparable to that which I was achieveing on Chisholms remote 3-phase units, gasless.

My first project, a simple enough one, is to be a welding screen. I've already designed this on CAD and spent last Sunday cutting and prepping the steel. If time permits I should get it together this week. Anyway, I've attached some images below for those who are interested. The two uprights are made from 30x30x2 RHS and gusstes cut from 5mm strip. The cross members are 25x25x1.6 and telescope into the 30x30. These are secured with bolts as I want the screen to easily disasemble for transport /storage. The castors are from Richmond and end-caps from Bunnings up the road. Hopefully I'll finish it this weekend and post some pictures.

Before I go I'd like to thank all those who contribute and make this forum what it is, particularly Graeme, Yonnee, Dazzler and the like! Well done guys... :2tsup:

Yonnee
7th December 2009, 11:04 PM
Welcome aboard WardloW, and thanks for the vote of confidence. It's always nice to be appreciated.

I did my beginners MIG course through Chisolm at Dandy too, must be 14 years ago now. Had my employer pay for it too, which is always a bonus. The best bit was we all finished early on the final day, so they let us play around with the MIG's setup for Aluminium welding.

Good looking project, love to see it finished.

Yonnee.

Yonnee