PDA

View Full Version : Abbey French Polish and Spray

Abbeyfrenchpoli
13th December 2009, 03:02 PM
Gday - my name is Dave. I am a french polisher who was trained properly in the trade longer ago than I like to admit.

I have my own boutique antique restoration and french polishing business located just north of Brisbane on Qld's Sunshine Coast - servicing North Brisbane to Gympie.

I have many years of experience with antiques and modern fiurniture.

I am happy to answer any questions about troubles with your treasured items, or furniture you may want to buy and have restored - most happy to share my expertise with no obligation.

You can contact me via email if you wish as well - abbeyspray at live.com

Or look for me on facebook - Abbey French Polish and Spray.

Jabbagutt
5th January 2010, 04:08 AM
:?Thanks for offering advice.

I have an Old English Oak table probably 100 years old by now. It is dry looking but in OK condition. (Not painted). I wish to make it look polished but am not really a good finisher. I had in mind to use a wipe on finish, but if you could direct me to something better that would be appreciated.

Thanks

Abbeyfrenchpoli
5th January 2010, 08:27 AM
:;You can apply orange shellac to the surface using cottonwool wraped in pure cotton cloth [old is better ]make this about the size of your palm. Dip into mixed shellac and squeeze out excess then going with the grain of the timber apply a single coat until the whole surface is covered.You can apply as many coats as you like as long as the one before is dry (5 mins )until you have the finish you desire You can give a light sand between coats .Leave over night and then apply bees wax with a fine steel wool (000)with the grain this will give you a very smooth finish
Abbeyfrench polish
ps make sure cotten wool is kept inside cotton rag completly

Jabbagutt
5th January 2010, 11:30 AM