PDA

View Full Version : Trying to figure out what is on this wood

flutetears
24th December 2009, 03:04 PM
Anyone have an idea what I have done to this bowl?
It looks like a gum residual That I cant get rid of. sanding don't seem to help.
Thanks for any ideas this is the first time I have run into this. Yes I am new to bowl turning but not to wood working.
Brad

Texian
24th December 2009, 03:11 PM
G'day flute,
Welcome to the forum. Surely someone here can answer your question. Are you referring to the sort of whitish area(s)? Is "Co" Colorado (US)?

dai sensei
24th December 2009, 03:12 PM
Are you referring to the bark inclusion or the tear out?

I would drizzle thin CA on the bark inclusion then sand as usual.

With the tear out, try a shear cut, or just drop back a few grades of sandpaper (say 80 or 120 until tear-out is gone, then work throught the grits again until smooth)

Hope this helps

flutetears
24th December 2009, 03:13 PM
G'day flute,
Welcome to the forum. Surely someone here can answer your question. Are you referring to the sort of whitish area(s)?

yes that whitish area is the problem it looks like it is on top of the grain but just don't seem to want to come off.

flutetears
24th December 2009, 03:14 PM
G'day flute,
Welcome to the forum. Surely someone here can answer your question. Are you referring to the sort of whitish area(s)? Is "Co" Colorado (US)?

Opps yes Colorado

flutetears
24th December 2009, 03:18 PM
Are you referring to the bark inclusion or the tear out?

I would drizzle thin CA on the bark inclusion then sand as usual.

With the tear out, try a shear cut, or just drop back a few grades of sandpaper (say 80 or 120 until tear-out is gone, then work throught the grits again until smooth)

Hope this helps

Tear out hmm I have hit it with 80 grit power sanding and dont seem to be able to get it out it seems to have an edge to it
Well back to the sanding
Thanks

Texian
24th December 2009, 03:18 PM