PDA

View Full Version : Similar position to Medal Collector - what should I do??

MrFlibble
31st August 2004, 02:39 PM
Hi all,

As a matter of odd co-incidence, I seem to find myself in a very similar position to Medal Collector in this post (http://www.woodworkforums.ubeaut.com.au/showthread.php?t=10916).

I'm looking at purchasing a table saw to replace a Triton system I borrowed and have been getting quite worked up over the Festool products on offer.

I'm also very new to this game. I'm in a position to buy all my hardware from scratch and am still trying to figure out what I should spend my hard earned cash on! I'm a firm believer in buying quality, but don't think that money should be thrown about because of a label.

Until last night I was adamant that I wanted to buy the CS 70 (if I still go Festool, I'll go the CS 50 after reading nt900's post) but a little more research made me think that a permanent unit would more logical. After flicking through a few woodworking mags and price catalogues, I noticed that for a similar price to the CS 70 base system, I can get what looks like a fantastic sliding table saw unit with all the bells and whistles I need as standard. After reading the replies to Medal Collector’s post I'm starting to think I was right..

My original attraction to the Festool system was the unique way that all power and dust extraction interconnected with each other, along with the quality and reliability I've read about. Now I'm not sure what to do!

So now my latest thought it to buy a good quality permanent table saw. Then possibly complement that setup with the Festool Multi Function Table (MFT) system as well as routing and finishing tools. I read a shining review (US) of the Festool MFT here:

http://www.thewoodshop.20m.com/festool_mft1.htm

The guy that wrote the review states that he has a table saw, plus the MFT system with the Festool circular saw. I must be missing something, because I can't see how that isn't doubling up on tools...