PDA

View Full Version : Sharpening turning tools: some comments on Hock's new book

rsser
25th January 2010, 04:35 PM
Getting a sharp edge on a tool is an important part of the turner's skill set.

Hock's book devotes one chapter to this matter.

Here are my comments on it and some musings that run beyond Hock's scope: click (http://ern.reeders.net.au/blog/hock-on-sharpening-a-turners-perspective)

Comments in reply are welcome.

orraloon
25th January 2010, 05:29 PM
Ern,
I am fairly new to turning so after reading a few books by the likes of Raffin and Rowley I just followed the advice they give and sharpen gouges and scrapers on a dry white wheel freehand. I know the edge is not the best but it is quick and it gets by. Skews and parting tools get a lick on an oilstone as I like a better edge on them. This is still quick to do. I got a Sheppach wet grinder over a year ago with the woodturners jigs, expecting my sharpening dreams fullfilled. It does a mean edge on a gouge but setting up time for all the different gouges takes way too long for my likeing. I was soon back at the dry grinder. There is a need for a real good edge for final cutting and if tearout is present but for the bulk of the work the dry grind method works for me. Even with bench chisels and plane irons where a razor edge is required I am finding myself drifting back to the oilstone and only use the wet wheel for serious regrinds of the primary bevel. The wet wheel does a fine job but takes time to set up for each tool. It is great if you have old battered tools to restore. I just prefer turning to sharpening so less time on one is more time on the other.
Regards
John

rsser
25th January 2010, 06:02 PM
Yep John, whatever trade-off works for you, no argument from me.