PDA

View Full Version : separate machines vs combinations

MrRob
6th September 2004, 04:49 PM
Hi all,
I am fairly new to woodworking, beyond renovations at home.
But by watching this forum there appears to be a number of people who have been at it awhile, and have developed a wealth of experience.
I went to the working with wood show in Canberra on the weekend and checked out some of the equipment there. Needless to say I came away somewhat confused as to what to get in setting up a home workshop.
I am trying to decide whether I am better served getting separate pieces of equipment or one of the combination machines. I saw the Hammer one from Austria, very nice. But I also like the Jet supersaw and some of JET's other gear. One disadvantage I could see right away is the weight of the Hammer, not something to "put away" after a days play as it were.
I am trying to ignore cost in this question, if I can "really" justify something to myself I will bend the plastic.
What is the considered opinion of those here?

Thanks in advance.

Rob.

Zed
6th September 2004, 05:01 PM
How much room you got ?

if you do a search you'll see a plethora of discussion and arguement on this topic. if your a weekender and just want to potter around you may want to consider the triton range.

my personal opinion is that seperate machines are better but they take up lotsa room (not the machines themselves as such but the areas around them - infeed outfeed etc...)

jet is the best taiwanese brand IMHO - or you could go for older stuff too.

welcome.

silentC
6th September 2004, 05:34 PM
Yep, I prefer separate machines. I find myself going from the jointer to the tablesaw to the thicknesser frequently and, having worked with combo machines before, I find having to change setup each time a pain. This is down to the way I work, I'm not disciplined enough to mill all my stock first.