PDA

View Full Version : woodworking hobby beginner disability Melbourne Northern suburbs

Ahmet Yahya
25th February 2010, 12:13 AM
Hi There,
I have just loined to WW forums.I have chronic fatique syndrom, so they say which stop me from working. I decided to take up woodworking as a hobby, can do small things but absolute beginner. I am hoping to find some more enthusiasts in northern Melbourne to share some skills.:?

tea lady
25th February 2010, 09:20 AM
Welcome.:cool: Lots of support here for whatever you want to do.:2tsup: Another idea might be to find a "Men's Shed" to join. Means you can access tools and know how before you shell out for your own tool collection.:cool: Looking forward to seeing your projects.:)

Ahmet Yahya
25th February 2010, 09:58 PM
Thanks Tea Lady,Men's Shed was a great idea !:2tsup: found one in LowerPlenty. I have completed a project, a pirates chest.:D:- I wanted it look rustic, so intentionally did not use any belt sander or plainer. I beleive it could have been much better. I value all criticism. You guys will get to see it when I found out how to upload pics.:?

tea lady
25th February 2010, 10:10 PM
:2tsup: Looks like you up loaded the pics OK! What a great chest.:U I'd better not show my son, because he will want one too. :doh::D

Ahmet Yahya
25th February 2010, 10:15 PM
What do you know I did it :D

Claw Hama
25th February 2010, 10:16 PM
Hi Ahmet and welcome, pirate chest looks great, one little trick if you want things to look rustic, use oil, mat or satin finish:;. Gloss is a little flash for rustic. Keep up the good work:U.

Ahmet Yahya
25th February 2010, 10:20 PM
:2tsup: Looks like you up loaded the pics OK! What a great chest.:U I'd better not show my son, because he will want one too. :doh::D
You are very kind:B. When I learn how to use belt sander, plainer and router I should be able to do better but I must buy them first:U

tea lady
25th February 2010, 10:22 PM