PDA

View Full Version : Metal polishing: what's in those Josco crayons?

rsser
21st March 2010, 02:25 PM
I've sent them an email asking but no reply.

I want to hone/polish HSS woodturning tool bevels, taking them from the 80g bench grinder wheel to 1000g or better, using power honing with an array of wood discs used on edge on the woodlathe.

It would be helpful to know what the particle sizes are to plan the steps.

I'm a complete newbie at this kind of thing so go gently if I'm off with the faeries :wink:

Grahame Collins
21st March 2010, 11:45 PM
There must be a Josco MSDF for the crayons.
it will be must likely there.
Grahame

BobL
22nd March 2010, 12:08 AM
There must be a Josco MSDF for the crayons.
it will be must likely there.
Grahame

I had a bit of search a couple of years ago and couldn't find anything so I also contacted them but they never got back to me either.

I did find a "components" listing from somewhere at work and from memory they had a range of Silica/Al/Fe oxides plus some animal fat like tallow, and some other waxes in them. Maybe we should try again to contact them again?

rsser
22nd March 2010, 07:36 AM
There are no data sheets on their website unfortunately, and as posted above, they didn't bother to reply to an email.

malb
22nd March 2010, 06:37 PM
Hi Ern, from a few years of metal polishing, I suspect that you are pushing the proverbial uphill.

There are a range of compounds available, which are basicly a wax impregnated with abrasive dust and pigments to colour code them. For general polishing of mild and stainless we worked through belt grits to 600 or higher or trizact A10 (btn 1200 and 1600 grit), then used a dark grey compound on a stitched cotton wheel, followed by a green compound on an open cotton mop and then a white compound on an open cotton mop. I believe that the abrasive in the white compound was white lime.