PDA

View Full Version : woodturning courses

novice
14th September 2004, 03:59 PM
i am a retiree who is really interested in woodturning. I have no experience but would like to know the best way to get started.
<!-- / message -->

Ankali
14th September 2004, 04:40 PM
Join the ACT Woodcraft Guild. You can do classes through them.

http://www.woodcraftguild.org.au/

You can also do classes at CIT.

Ankali

smidsy
14th September 2004, 08:25 PM
I would say that you are better off joining a woodturning club or guild rather than a tafe type course.
The courses tend to be rather structured whereas the clubs allow you to work at your own pace and do specific things while at the same time also providing a support and teaching structure - and the other great thing about the clubs is that everyone is on a different level and doing different things which always very interesting.
Cheers
Paul

Babytoolman
14th September 2004, 09:48 PM
I agree with paul. We in the southern highlands are lucky enough to Have Mike Darlow as a member and he is a great source of information. We also have a coupe of guys who used to teach at tafe and teach at home now for a good fee.
So i would join a guild and get some lessons there.

roger

Alastair
15th September 2004, 01:25 PM
FWIW

I started turning from scratch, teaching myself from books and videos. I then went on to join a Woodturning club, very similar to the Sydney Guild regions. Finally 3 years ago, I took the plunge and enrolled for the TAFE course at Lidcombe.

While I made progress in my early years, a major problem was that both from book/video, and at the club, what you encountered was an array of different and conflicting information and advice. While this is great once you have made some progress, and can evaluate what you are seeing, I certainly found it confusing at the time.

The 3 great advantages of the TAFE course, are as follows: