PDA

View Full Version : laminating coloured pencils?

techgirl
18th April 2010, 10:51 PM
Hi All, I'm a complete newbie to woodworking.

I've been thinking of making a few small decorative pieces by laminating pencils into a slab then cutting across them to get a variety of patterns and colours. Can anyone recommend how I might go about liaminaing them? What sort of glue? Could I do it enmasse or two at a time in a clamp/vise?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. :)

artme
19th April 2010, 07:45 AM
G'day Techgirl and welcome to the collective madness.:2tsup::2tsup::2tsup:

This is something I've also contemplated. I think it would depend on exactly what you are making at the time, but it seems to me that a few at a time is as many as you would do because of the colour changes.

I would also sand the paint off th side to be glued - at least in patches so you get bette adhesion. A reasonably quick setting glue would also be an advantage.

ash233
19th April 2010, 09:12 AM
Maybe you could think about casting them all into a block of pencils using epoxy casting resin? that way any gaps would also be filled nicely....

Another option might be a hot glue gun if it doesnt get hot again later through sanding etc.

AlexS
19th April 2010, 02:41 PM
They'll stick better if you remove the paint. I've found that pencils can be planed easily, or put through a thicknesser. If they are hexagonal pencils, most glues will be OK. If they're round, you might use epoxy, as it's gap-filling.

davidurquhart
25th April 2010, 09:35 PM
This made me recall a piece of art made of laminated pencils that is really worth a look. It's in the foyer of ABN AMRO in Sydney. The address is below - with the receptionists blessing walk to the right and towards the windows.

ABN AMRO Australia
Level 29, ABN AMRO Tower 88 Phillip St, Sydney NSW 2000
(02)#8259#5000

(There may also be lollies on the table.)

Durdge39
26th April 2010, 09:20 AM