PDA

View Full Version : Help please, outdoor storage

gatlingsu
11th May 2010, 02:12 PM
Hi all, new to this forum, need some help regarding outdoor storage.

I am totally new to this kind of things, so don't have any knowledge at the moment.

Below is a sketch of what I have in mind,

Questions, and thanks in advance,

1, from something I read, I feel I can use treated pine to build the frame, exterior plywood for the panels, am I right, any better option?

2, Will these materials stand sunlight and rain water? Or need some kind of painting to offer proper protection?

3, this thing is to hold small electric mower, blower, small tools, no heavy stuff. Can the plan be simplified? For example, can I use thicker panels and discard the frame?

4, For the thickness of panels and frame, what should I be looking at? Can I have thinner panel at the back, which will be touching a wall of my house.

5, I have to install doors on both sides, can't have it in the front, because the place is too tight to have a door opening on the front side. Any issue there?

6, how do I stop rain water coming in? Any paint work as sealer as well, or need to apply sealer separately?

Thanks again

http://www.airforceworld.com/storage.jpg

mic-d
11th May 2010, 04:43 PM
Just some quick responses to get started in quote below

1, from something I read, I feel I can use treated pine to build the frame, exterior plywood for the panels, am I right, any better option?

Treated pine will be fine, but I would opt for treated exterior plywood too if there is even the slightest chance of termites. Blighters are very active again and I have had two instance in the last 2 months of termites in exterior plywood close to the ground.
2, Will these materials stand sunlight and rain water? Or need some kind of painting to offer proper protection?

You will need to paint it with a good exterior paint or clear finish