PDA

View Full Version : Giday folks

GreenTemple
7th August 2010, 08:54 PM
Lets all just assume I am a complete novice. Although I have done some tinkering with slap up jobs using a hand saw, a drill, some scraps of timber, a few screws, that sort of thing. On occasions I have even cleared the stuff off that has accumulated on a Triton workbench I got from somewhere and done a bit of timber butchering. But for all intents and purposes the work I have done has been held together by the sheer power of enough screws, nails or bolts. A set square wouldn't know what to make of it really.

But for some reason, suddenly I am mad keen to work with timber in a beautiful and lasting way. I love wood and really want to learn to treat it with respect. We are living on 3 acres, doing the self sufficiency thing, been here for a few years and now I am ready to start to tackle some building/making projects. I've got a lot lined up (and the wife has even more)

So here I am, ready to go, but like so many before me I don't really know where to start. The only stipulation I have is that I would like to use hand tools as a preference over power tools, although I will use power tools initially with a view to eventually phasing them out.