PDA

View Full Version : Use it or lose it?

Tikki
14th October 2004, 07:39 PM
Hi intarsia lovers
If we don't post on these forums, we might lose them! C'mon scrollers, surely some of you do intarsia. We all started somewhere, and judging from the advice dished out on this forum, there are some very talented woodies out there to help us. Post some pics of your efforts, ask some questions - I learnt by my many mistakes, 'twas pretty lonely and frustrating when no-one else around shared my interest, and I'm still learning (and still by mistakes!!). I'll start the ball rolling by sharing a project I've just finished.
Regards
Tikki

Barry_White
14th October 2004, 08:26 PM
That's brilliant Tikki. What did you colour the timber with.

Don Nethercott
14th October 2004, 11:44 PM
Bloody beaudiful!!!
Tell us exactly how you did that.

I haven't tried Intarsia yet - I'm still trying to get my bandsaw operating properly to make bandsaw boxes.

I agree there must be plenty of interested people out there interested, skilled, trying to learn, etc not only Intarsia, but also Bandsawn Boxes and marquetry.

I'm not kidding about how you did that. I know it may take a bit of typing but it would be a good way to get people interested. Especially the colouring on the leaves and rose.
Keep up the good work
Don

Barry_White
15th October 2004, 10:26 AM
Don

How is that beautiful Clarence River going. I lived in Maclean for two years actually sorry I left.

Don Nethercott
15th October 2004, 02:59 PM
Barry,
The river is still here but no fish. The salt is up well past Grafton and that's where the fish are. Story goes someone caught a blue swimmer at Copmanhurst recently (that's 70 to 80 km upstream from the mouth for those who do not know the Clarence).

Plenty of timber around here, especially Camphor Laurel. That makes woodturning much cheaper.

Call in if you are ever visiting this way.

Regards
Don

morry
15th October 2004, 06:17 PM
Tikki