PDA

View Full Version : mill super x3 vs hm 46

rfurzer
19th August 2010, 06:14 PM
I am a milling newbie and only want to mess about with model engineering.

I have seen the sieg super x3 and the HM 46 on the HF website

Anyone own one of these? How does it go?

How useful is the tilting head?

Dave J
20th August 2010, 02:03 AM
Hi,
Since no one has answered I will give you my opinions.
The HM46 is a much better machine than the X3 and will mill steel nearly as quick as the X3 does aluminum. The HM46 has 4 times the weight over the X3 which makes it a lot more rigid.
If I hadn't got a bit of extra money when I did, I would have bought a HM45 instead of the HM52
As for the tilting head it is good to have to be able to tram the machine perfect instead of being stuck with what the factory gave you.
Some jobs the tilting head will help, but you can get away without it. I have had a HM52 for around 31/2 years and haven't needed it tilted for anything yet.
The RF31 is a good machine as well if your stuck between the 2 prices (I see there on special at the moment) a lot of blokes have them and make some tricky stuff on them.
It all comes down to cost, if you can afford it, the HM46 will be the better machine by far over the X3, if not I would go for the RF31.
Just remember to leave around a $1000 for tooling to get started.
Hope that helps a bit, now hopefully someone that owns one of them or had experience with both can step in.

Dave

Sterob
20th August 2010, 09:42 PM
I've got a HM-45 and if I had to do it again, I'd buy the HM-48.

I have had the Mill for about 2 years, but have not done much with it. I have never used the tilting head, but it only has to be needed once for it to be worth it.
Hard for us to help too much as its easy to spend someone else's money.
DaveJ has just about covered it all. Go and have a look at them. They are vastly different in physical size.
Sterob

rfurzer
22nd August 2010, 07:54 PM