PDA

View Full Version : Speed cut

Tiger
11th September 2010, 03:50 PM
Someone here mentioned Glenn Lucas and I've watched this clip YouTube - Turning a spinning top - Glenn Lucas Ireland a few times but I can't work out how he makes the cut 3 to 5 secs into the clip. It looks a little like a peeling cut and in one go he shapes the bottom of the top. Could someone please explain what sort of cut that is and how it is made?

wood hacker
11th September 2010, 09:31 PM
Tiger I'm no expert but it looks to me like he does a peeling cut but at the same time is sliding the shew along so that it shapes the bottom. Of course you could only get away with that at the end of the blank. I think you'd have some issues trying that in the middle.

Paul39
12th September 2010, 02:54 AM
Wow, he is good. If you look at this you see he has had a bit of practice:

YouTube - Glenn Lucas wood turner Ireland - bowl production.

The skew and I have an adversarial relationship, so I can't comment on technique.

Tiger
12th September 2010, 09:41 AM
The cut happens so quickly that it's difficult to see how he does it and how he does it so efficiently.

If you're out there , can you tell us what sort of cut that is?

By the way, the whole top takes around 25 secs to make, I've never heard of anyone being able to make one that quickly.

Allen Neighbors
12th September 2010, 10:27 AM
I could only dream of being that good with a skew....

Durdge39
12th September 2010, 12:37 PM
He makes the most of using the skew dead flat on its side face so he wont get any catches - he only does a rolling type cut using his narrower skew to true up the handle. Must be good wood and dang sharp skews too. I wonder what sort of sharpening system he uses :? :D

Amazing work.

stuffy
12th September 2010, 01:33 PM
What a great video! :2tsup:

Nice little skill for demonstrators. If you could do that at a market stall it would really get the punters in.