PDA

View Full Version : Wood Lathe Beginnings

Scott
25th October 2010, 09:33 PM
So Ladies and Gentlemen, what got you started on woodturning and how did you learn? Were you self taught or attended a course? How did you choose your first lathe and why?

Me? I'm a hobby woodworker who has never touched a lathe but looking to try something different and will be guided by your answers to the above questions. I don't know what I'll be turning however I'm open to whatever derives the greatest enjoyment.

I'm not looking for recommendations, just wanting to start on the right foot.

Thanks in advance.

-Scott.

Kev Y.
25th October 2010, 10:11 PM
Hi Scott

I began turning about 11 years ago after a need for a cylinder type structure for another build project.

My first lathe was a belt drive cheap Chinese lathe, made from pressed metal and cast fittings, much the same as the GMC blue lathes.

After spending a weekend tutoring from Vic Wood ( he no longer gives lessons ), I realized that belt drives were not what I wanted, and the cheap lathe was not worth the money I paid for it.

I researched a few lathes and settled for the Nova DVR 3000.

I still have the lathe today, and apart from a small issue just recently, I am very happy with it.

My advise is do your homework and select the lathe which suits your requirements. There are quite a few out there to choose from.

You may quickly realise that as wella s the lathe, there are several other ancillery pieces of equipment you may require.. turning tools ( good quality), a good bench grinder and when you can afford, it a wet stone grinder. then there are the finishes, and etc, etc, etc.

No matter what you chose, there are plenty of peolpe here to help advise you on your selection.

Ozkaban
26th October 2010, 07:36 AM
Hi,