PDA

View Full Version : Gidgee Bowl

Grumpy John
26th October 2010, 02:03 PM
This is my first attempt at turning Gidgee and I don't think I've turned a harder timber before, three or four passes and I'm back at the grinder for a touch up :~.

This piece of Georgina Gidgee was kindly given to me by Steck :2tsup:, and I made the mistake of leaving it in the car for about 7 hours while I was at Ern's midweek shed bash. The fine cracks that were barely visible opened up substantially :(( so I emptied about 4 tubes of CA into them and hopefully it will hold together.

151112 151113 151114

I drilled a 50mm hole with a forstner bit so that I could hold it in a chuck while I turned a tenon. I made sure that the blank was securely clamped while it was being drilled as I value my fingers too much to risk getting them broken by a flying piece of gidgee.

151115 151116 151117 151118

Starting to take shape now so I'm going to stop and have a think about the order in which to finish it off and the final shape. I've stuffed up too many of my turnings by rushing into it and not thinking things through. This is a really nice piece of timber and I want to make sure I get the most out of it. I was hoping to leave the bark on but a piece came loose, luckily I was able to find it amongst the rubbish on the floor. Should I glue it back on with CA and hope it stays put, leave things as they are or pull all the remaining bark off.

151120 151121 151122 151123

All comments and suggestions welcome :D.

RETIRED
26th October 2010, 04:07 PM
Glue the bark back on with CA and give the rest of the bark a dose as well.

If it stays on you only have 2 edges to sand then. :D

jefferson
26th October 2010, 04:11 PM
Grumpy John,

I'm not sure about the order of things, but you definitely do bowls a different way to me. I fix on the flat side with a screw chuck, turn a foot on the other side, then reverse to hollow, then reverse again to take the foot off.