PDA

View Full Version : Nail Putty Colour

tubes82
3rd November 2010, 04:11 PM
Hi,

We are sanding and polishing our floorboards but are having trouble getting the nail putty colour right. So we went to bunnings and the guy said to mix some dust from the floor boards into the nail putty with linseed oil.

Can anyone help with what to buy and how to mix this in and get the correct colour?

Dave50
3rd November 2010, 04:44 PM
what I do is to get the sawdust and mix it together with aquadhere (the glue I use for furniture construction) if you got a small container and mixed your dust with it then the match will be pretty good!

tubes82
3rd November 2010, 04:57 PM
What ratio of saw dust should i add? I also brought a small tub of timber mate water based wood filler. Can i use this or should i get some aquadhere. I am new to this so very basic easy to follow instructions would help lol

Lignum
3rd November 2010, 05:15 PM
If you try to match the colour the same as the floorboards, then when you oil or varnish them, the fillings become “light” colour dots and look terrible. Best to use filler that is 4 or 5 times darker, then it looks like natural feature.

Dave50
3rd November 2010, 06:04 PM
yep you could make a feature out of the nails, the way I do it is mix until it is stiff enough to place into holes, there is no measurements, just keep mixing till it looks "right"

rtfarty
3rd November 2010, 07:20 PM
As a painter & decorator with 40+ years in the trade I still find the best coloured filler is stained linseed oil putty.
The putty is stained using various methods, but I use artist oil colours in tubes.
The method is to mix 3 or 4 main colours and then intermix some of those colours together in different proportions to get a pallette of colours that cover the colours in the timber.