PDA

View Full Version : Crosscut sled for the Compact saw table

Corunetes
4th November 2004, 03:08 PM
I know that the compact saw table has a very small user base but I have been using one for over 2 years now and i am more than happy with it.
One problem with the table was the crosscutting of long pieces of timber........ I bought an extension table which has been a godsend but for single cuts it was a little bit of overkill............. I adapted a crosscut sled that I saw on the Time/life video and have been using it for a couple of weeks now and I wish that I had made it a long time ago..............
Take a tip......... Make one.....you'll not regret it! :cool:

UKTritonnut
6th November 2004, 02:46 AM
Hi Corunetes, I too, have the compact table and love it...could you please point me to a link for the crosscut sled you say you made, failing that, any chance of a photo or two?

Thanks....;)

Corunetes
6th November 2004, 07:59 PM
Hi Corunetes, I too, have the compact table and love it...could you please point me to a link for the crosscut sled you say you made, failing that, any chance of a photo or two?

I'll see how I go about sending 3 pics. I think that it will have to be done in 3 seperate messages................ This one is a general shot........

Corunetes
6th November 2004, 08:01 PM
Pic 2... The piece of timber that I used to make a runner out of has a shim attached to form a "T" section that keeps the sled from slopping about.

Corunetes
6th November 2004, 08:03 PM
Pic 3

The block that i used as a safety stop at the end is fairly important.

UKTritonnut
8th November 2004, 10:45 AM
Thanks for the photos Peter...great idea!...will try and fashion one myself and will forward some pics.

I assume the safety block is for the sawblade runout?:o ...and that the guide piece is actually fastened to the bottom of the sled and runs freely in the table slot?

Gerry S

Corunetes
8th November 2004, 11:02 AM