PDA

View Full Version : Lathe purchase

cookie48
4th December 2010, 08:48 PM
I am new to wood turning and currently have a Carbatec1000 lathe. It is now really not the lathe I need. As I will be turning long objects ( walking sticks) I really need a long bed lathe that can handle this type of turning. Thinking of either the new Vicmarc 200ecm or Woodfast C1000. Can anyone please assist in making up my mind for me.
Thanks

issatree
4th December 2010, 09:03 PM
Hi Cookie48,
It would be the Vicmarc for me. Have you got the ECM right. Do you mean the Variable or just the Belt Changing Type. The Variable would most certainly be the go for doing Walking Sticks. I'm not a lover of the Woodfast, but that's just me.
Regards,
issatree.
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden"><input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

Big Shed
4th December 2010, 09:06 PM
You might want to consider adding the Hare & Forbes WL-46 to your shortlist.

Electronic variable speed in 2 ranges, 0-1200 and 0-3200 (realistically more like 100-1200 and 100-3200), 47" (1190mm) between centres, 18" (450mm) swing. A very solid and extremely smooth and quiet machine.

I upgraded to this machine from an MC900, have never regretted it.

http://www.woodworkforums.com/f8/changing-guard-115302/

Several members here have one, as well as several members in the US/Canada.

At around $1600 it is good value.

Terry B
4th December 2010, 09:26 PM
Would this be long enough?:D:D:D
Wood Lathe Large custom built by engineer 240 volt (eBay item 140483656888 end time 08-Dec-10 15:02:24 AEDST) : Industrial (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Wood-Lathe-Large-custom-built-engineer-240-volt-/140483656888?pt=AU_Hardware&hash=item20b57a7cb8)

cookie48
4th December 2010, 10:04 PM
Terry B. It is big enough for sure. But I live in a country town outside Adelaide. Too far away sorry

cookie48