PDA

View Full Version : Yet another "new" lathe.

toolman49
9th December 2010, 03:55 PM
G'Day ,
Just a quick intro, my name is Martin, I'm a freelance technician servicing Mailing, Packaging & Labeling machinery, this requires me to fabricate & modify machine parts on a fairly regular basis. hence the need for basic engineering facilities.
Fleabay watchers may have seen a listing at Easter time for a 12 x 36 Honden that had been in storage for 20 years. I bought the bugger and it was exactly as advertised, brand spanking new in the original packing crate. It came without stand, motor or chucks and has been a work in progress, consuming a goodly chunk of my spare time for the last 7 months. I have resisted posting until I felt it was maybe of interest to other owners of similar machines.
To date it has been fitted with a solid stand (scrounged, painted & fitted out) Bison chucks, Easson DRO,1.5 hp variable speed D.C. drive motor & an AXA toolpost.
A detailed report on all the work done would run to the size of "War and Peace" so I won't bore you with details, but if anyone is interested in particular parts of this project let me know and i will add further posts,
Regards,
Martin

Dave J
9th December 2010, 04:32 PM
Hi Martin,
Welcome to the forum, nice looking lathe and I agree it looks brand new.. I wouldn't worry about boring us with details, we are all tool heads here and love this sort of stuff.
That cabinet compliments the lathe nicely.:2tsup:

Dave

Stustoys
9th December 2010, 04:49 PM
Hi Martin
Welcome
What Dave said, plus.
Do you know where it was made? It looks very much like a lathe my brother inlaw has, though yours is somewhat prettier :)
Is the shaft below the leadscrew for powerfeed or on/off?
What are the orange/red circles on the headstock?

One day my garage will be that clean again :(

Stuart

RayG
9th December 2010, 05:09 PM
Hi Martin,

Welcome to the forum, beautiful looking lathe, and nicely setup.