PDA

View Full Version : I'm after my first lathe...

stumpjumper
12th December 2010, 01:49 AM
I just missed out on a basic home made lathe at the local Cash Converters - two speed 1/2 hp on a 4ft bed, tool rest and simple tail stock for $30. They don't hold and when I went back next day...

There's a 'Dynalink' with stand, all the bits, chisels and a copying attachment on Gumtree for $350 but there's a thread on here that seems to indicate a few problems with quality.

Any suggestions, or should I buy a scrap 1/2 hp motor and rig up my own (I'm an adequate welder etc)?

munruben
12th December 2010, 09:13 AM
Hi, I have a Dynalink which my daughter and hubby bought me a couple of years ago. This particular lathe was brand new but had been in storage for some time. The aluminium cast pulleys on the motor and spindle had perished and just fell to pieces when I tried to start the motor. I replaced the pulleys and had no problems since.
They are not the best lathe by any means but in the low price bracket I guess they hold their own. If I had a choice to buy a new, low priced lathe I would choose a JET. but in the event that you want to buy something around the figure you mentioned, maybe one of the Carba-tec or Hare and Forbes cheaper lathes may suit you, At least you have a back up service for warranty from those companies.
Depending on what accessories come with the lathe you saw advertised it is not a bad price as some of the "extras" are quite costly.
The Dynalink could be a good starting point for you but I guess its a decision you will have to make. If you decide to buy the Dynalink, see if you can check it out before you commit to it. Check the tailstock and headstock line up and I would checkk the pulleys just to be on the safe side. Just bear in mind, the Dynalink is a cheap lathe and as always you get what you pay for.

Good luck and welcome to a very addictive hobby. :2tsup:

stumpjumper
12th December 2010, 09:41 AM