PDA

View Full Version : Turning lessons or clubs in SA?

gcampbel
21st December 2010, 01:00 AM
Hi,
I'm a beginner who's just bought a lathe and I'm really keen to get a few lessons on basic turning techniques and sharpening before I get stuck in (just can't remember much from high school tech studies when I last touched a lathe!). Can anyone recommend a good teacher/school/club in Adelaide? From google it doesn't look like there's much out there!
Cheers,
George

RETIRED
21st December 2010, 07:20 AM
Woodgroup South Australia wood working clubs (http://www.woodgroupsa.org.au/wSA/clubs.html)

Jim Carroll
21st December 2010, 09:18 AM
Tim Skilton would also be one to approach, he does the have a go demos at the wood shows.

cookie48
21st December 2010, 02:14 PM
I agree with the Tim Skelton bit. Have had lessons from him. Good guy to boot.
Cookie.
P.S. He loves a red to.

RETIRED
21st December 2010, 02:27 PM
I agree with the Tim Skilton bit. Have had lessons from him. Good guy to boot.
Cookie.
P.S. He loves a red to.Cor, don't tell him that, his head is big enough. :whistling2:
:D

gcampbel
21st December 2010, 08:11 PM
Thanks everyone for your tips. I reckon I'll get along to one of the clubs as a first step. Here I was thinking there weren't any out there and now I've got too many to choose from!

Sawdust Maker
21st December 2010, 08:26 PM
I agree with the Tim Skelton bit. Have had lessons from him. Good guy to boot.
Cookie.
P.S. He loves a red to.

That would be a bit of red gum, would it?

jefferson
21st December 2010, 08:30 PM
George, go get 'em. :2tsup::2tsup:

Can I suggest a few things?

Turn something, anything, as best you can TODAY. Before lessons, instruction etc. And put it aside for safekeeping.

Take your lessons then turn the same piece. Same process, put it aside.

Practice some more, read books, articles, watch DVDs and then again turn the same piece.