PDA

View Full Version : Homebuilt 21' cuddy cruiser hull problems -Help

Billy Boy
31st January 2011, 06:14 AM
Well, this is my story on the boat. Five years ago my brother and I bought a 21 foot cabin cruiser that was built in the basement of a man named Harrold Rhinehart . I never met him or his family, but friends of the family told us that harrold build the boat in his basement. He started in 1975 and finished the boat in 1979. He used the boat until 1985 when he became ill. The boat sat in a shed until we bought it in 2005. It is powered by a Palmer 220 V8 and a Volvo Penta 250 outdrive. We removed the engine and rebuilt it. We are mechanics by trade. We replaced the boots on the outdrive and painted the whole boat. The boat is a plywood constucted with a fiberglass mat cover on exterior and hull.. The boat will jump out of the water like a bass boat and it cruises at 32 at about 60 percent power. Runs out of prop at at 75 percent power and top speed is about 38. We had it off of the Coast of North Carolina Striper fishing this Friday the 29th. When we returned to the dock we discovered a large section of the fiberglass gone from the right side of the hull exposing the plywood. We are going to repair it but want some advice which direction to go.. It seems the fiberglass is seperating from the plywood but the plywood is in good shape..Probably age. I am wanting to remove the glass on the hull and re-glass or epoxy it.. What do you think? Thanks Billy Boy in North Carolina.

PAR
31st January 2011, 08:13 AM
This is a common problem of older plywood boats covered in polyester resin and mat (or cloth). Polyester just doesn't stick to wood very well and eventually lets go, as you've learned.