PDA

View Full Version : A Project for Beginners

Bob H
23rd November 2004, 03:30 PM
http://www.vianet.ca/~rhelman/2roost.jpg

These 7 inch tall roosters are the result of my very first foray into intarsia. I had been doing other scrollsaw stuff for a few months prior, but this caught my eye as way to add creativity which is lacking in the routine cut cut cut of fretwork and the like.

As a beginner I followed the instructions and did nothing more than round over the edges. However I did use my own choices of wood/colour.

The end result was enough to hook me. And away I went. Still do other types of scrolling too, but 9 of 10 projects are intarsia.

This pattern:

There is nothing complicated. Sawing is straightforward and if you have some difficulty following the line, errors are forgiving.

The shading in the pattern gives you an indication of the colours you can use. Either various shades of wood or, if you choose, paint/stain.

The shading shows 4 shades or colours. White (or very light), Light, Medium and Dark. In my example I used 5 different woods, the 5th being the red combs.

Fact is all one colour could work too, as a practice piece.

If the wood grain is pronounced it will look better if the bit being cut has the grain running through the long axis of that piece . This is not critical here but will become necessary as you progress to more complex subjects. I think you can see the effect of grain in most of the pictures I have posted.

You may choose to lay the entire pattern upon the wood you are working with, fasten it down with your choice of temporary adhesive, and cut it all out in one go. Then reassemble the pieces a la a jigsaw puzzle.

Or if you wish to use either several different woods or to utilize the natural grain directions I suggest you print out several copies of the pattern then you can cut out individual pieces, lay them on the wood you have chosen, with the grain and cut the bits out individually. (This is the way I do it).