PDA

View Full Version : Parting for beginners

sjm
20th February 2011, 02:41 PM
Hi all,

Total beginner here, picked up my first lathe yesterday, and I have about 3 hours hands-on experience (after many hours of watching YouTube videos). I'm playing with branches off a local gum tree, and experimenting with different chisels. So far I've been able to rough out a few cylinders and make some basic tapers, beads and coves. However, parting is causing me grief. I'm getting horrible breakout, and would appreciate some advice on what's going wrong?

I've tried resting on the bevel and slowly lifting, and also "stabbing" straight in, neither method seems to work for me... Incidentally, in the image below, the straight section on the right was done with a skew, not a parting tool.

http://stevenmerrifield.com/hosting/parting.jpg

Thanks,
Steve

rsser
20th February 2011, 03:19 PM
Yeah, looks a mess.

Is it green?

Generally I'd present the parting tool so that the edge was aimed toward the centre line, slowly enter and then drop the tool handle end to raise the cutting edge and then progressively raise the handle end to arc the edge inwards.

The arc is in one plane. No side to side wiggling. The shaft behind the cutting edge should be no wider than the edge. The edge should be sharp it goes without saying.

sjm
20th February 2011, 07:22 PM
Thanks for the reply, I think I am doing exactly as you describe, which is the same as shown in this video: YouTube - Parting Tool Technique Although I'm going much slower. I'm using a 3mm tool with straight shaft, not a diamond shape. The branch was cut a few weeks ago from a tree that fell about 6 months ago, so it's not freshly green, but it's not totally dry either. It certainly doesn't ooze sap and the chips are not moist.

I guess what I want to know is if this is a common problem for beginners, and something that will improve with experience, or is there something fundamentally wrong, like motor speed or toolrest height?

Thanks,