PDA

View Full Version : What's the trick

Fred in Tassie
27th November 2004, 09:54 PM
I have spent the last 45 minutes attempting to twist, turn, roll etc, my bandsaw blades into the circles that you see with new blades for storage.<O:p</O:p

After not achieving my objective I retired for the evening. First thing in the morning I will be purchasing new thicker gloves, although a small amount of blood does tend to lubricate the blades, but alas it has not helped with the folding, the blades still remain as 1 loop not the 3 circles I would like.<O:p</O:p

Could the forum please explain how I can achieve my objective successfully, or is it less stressful on the blade and myself, if I leave as is.<O:p</O:p

<O:p</O:p
By the way I am new in to this game.<O:p</O:p

Cheers<O:p</O:p

Fred<O:p</O:p

smidsy
27th November 2004, 10:29 PM
Hei Fred,
First off, welcome to the mad house.
I don't have a bandsaw now, but when I had one I found that the easiest way is to hold the blade in a loose oval with a hand at each end and simultaneously twist each end of the blade in a different direction. The blade would usually spring in to the coil.
Cheers
Paul

DarrylF
27th November 2004, 10:42 PM
There's a trick to it definitely - basically what Smidsy said :) www.finewoodworking.com (http://www.finewoodworking.com) I think has a video demonstration on how to do it.

smidsy
27th November 2004, 11:41 PM
And Fred,
Be careful when you uncoil the blade because they will spring out quite viscously, I've been bitten more than once uncoiling a bandsaw blade.
Cheers
Paul

fxst
27th November 2004, 11:54 PM
I drop em on the floor and they open nice and safe :D
Pete

smidsy
28th November 2004, 02:15 AM
The problem with dropping them on the floor is that bosses don't like it.