PDA

View Full Version : Gday all

thompy
14th March 2011, 05:35 PM
:UGday all,

Well, here goes, i'm a 39 y/o bloke livin in brissy, married, i've not done any woodwork for pleasure really since high school, i still have and use a segmented bowl of pine and rosewood, i doubt i could recreate with my current situation. Lookout wife, i may be on the warpath for a table saw and bandsaw (for starters).:oo:

I've lost my grandpop in november and he left me his lathe, i think its a gmc (not positive, i am picking it up next month) and a router. The situation has left me wanting to rekindle an interest back into all things wood. I've just finished making a queen bed from pine studding i had left over from a house extension, and i think it turned out quite well considering i only used the pine studs a drop saw and a drill.

So thats me, ive got questions aplenty, rusty ability, a mechanic by trade and little tooling, a great interest and perhaps even verging on a midlife thing (can i do that at 39? whats the ruling? someone told me 40 was the new 30:p...i dunno).

Neal.

Christos
14th March 2011, 08:59 PM
I do not think that there is a real midlife as you get that only from people that do different things. If you have an interest and always had the interest then how is that a midlife? I think I will stop the dribble and get to the point, WELCOME TO THE FORUM. :U

AlexHW
14th March 2011, 10:58 PM
Welcome to the forum! Enjoy your stay. :D

munruben
16th March 2011, 10:32 AM
Hi and welcome to the forum.:2tsup:

thompy
17th March 2011, 05:09 PM
Worked out how to put the picture links in, so here's those two projects i mentioned above in my first post. Thanks for the warm welcome! I've been a lurking guest for a while.

AlexHW
17th March 2011, 06:59 PM
I really like the bowl, very smooth looking. :)

crowie
17th March 2011, 08:02 PM
G'Day & Welcome to a top forum Neal,
As a tradie your half way there and from the bed & bowl photos you sure got the skill.