PDA

View Full Version : Grind for a Beginner's Bowl Gouge

Simon-UK
3rd December 2004, 04:23 AM
Chaps, I need some advice please.

There seems to be as many different types of grind for a bowl gouge as there are types of timber to be turned.

As a beginner I have followed what seems to be the concensus and bought a 3/8" bowl gouge (from Crown tools if that makes any difference).

http://www.crownhandtools.ltd.uk/products/bowlgouges.asp

Now, how should I grind it or should I use it straight out of the packet (a short grind akin to a small roughing gouge!).

Please be kind if this is a stupid question but looking at the tool it seems the tops of the flute are just bound to get caught with the bevel ground square as it is supplied.

Many thanks
Simon.

RETIRED
3rd December 2004, 08:21 AM
Chaps, I need some advice please.

There seems to be as many different types of grind for a bowl gouge as there are types of timber to be turned.

As a beginner I have followed what seems to be the concensus and bought a 3/8" bowl gouge (from Crown tools if that makes any difference).

http://www.crownhandtools.ltd.uk/products/bowlgouges.asp

Now, how should I grind it or should I use it straight out of the packet (a short grind akin to a small roughing gouge!).

Please be kind if this is a stupid question but looking at the tool it seems the tops of the flute are just bound to get caught with the bevel ground square as it is supplied.

Many thanks
Simon.
Not a stupid question. :D

As a beginner I would use nearly the same grind that it comes with but ease the corners back a bit on the flutes. No tool is ever sharp from the factory and in most cases nor are they the right shape.

100 turners will all grind their tools differently to suit themselves, they all work. You have to find what works best for you.

Simon-UK
3rd December 2004, 09:17 AM
Many thanks Robo,

Possibly difficult to articulate in a reply, but what do you mean by ease the corners back?