PDA

View Full Version : Automatic Defibrillation Devices

Pac man
20th May 2011, 07:30 PM
Do any of you belong to a community group that have automatic defibillation devices (AED) available. AED's are now available from community grants and a club i belong is undecided about getting one.

if your group has one have you used it?

Chesand
20th May 2011, 08:11 PM
About six months ago, our local Community Bank gave these units to 8 local sporting groups and schools with the hope that they are never used but they are there for an emergency.
Training was provided as part of the deal.
PM me if you wish to discuss further
I say go for it - if one life is saved it is all worthwhile.

danny.s
20th May 2011, 11:00 PM
I agree with chesand completely. The hope is that it just spends its whole life attached to the wall and is just never needed. The comfort though is knowing it's there.

I'm a trainer (first aid) for my son's junior football team and have started working on the committee to fundraise for an AED. My experience is that there are people, young and old, who have underlying and sometimes unknown conditions where their hearts can simply fail. In these cases the AED can save a life.