PDA

View Full Version : What bowl turning tools to buy

pwill
15th December 2004, 07:16 PM
I am pretty new to turning and have turned several bowls using the most basic of tools, bowl gouge and round nosed scraper. There is a lot of other tools available out there and I am trying to find out what I can buy to make the job easier as my level of confidence increases. Money is not the important thing, rather good advise on the right tools.

gatiep
15th December 2004, 07:19 PM
You can buy someones experienjce and knowledge by attending a course. If the instructor is worth his salt, it will beat all the tools you can buy anyday.

Good luck

:)

chunter
15th December 2004, 11:19 PM
Hi pwill

a course would certainly be worthwhile - Christmas pressie from the wife, maybe?

Hornsby also has a regional group of the Sydney Woodturners' Guild with 30+ members that meet monthly at Annangrove. A few of the members also contribute to this forum. Next meeting is the second saturday in Feb 05. It would be a good way of getting your questions answered.

cheers

Colin

smidsy
16th December 2004, 01:13 AM
I've been turning about 7 months now and my chisel collection comrpises the 6 piece generic carbatec (and others) chisel set, two home made bowl scrapers, a hamlet half inch skew chisel and a hamlet half inch bowl gouge.

The generic set is a good starting point because they are good enough to do some really nice work with but cheap enough to learn to sharpen on - the skill of sharpening chisels is as important as turning skills.
The bowl scrapers I made myself, one is a standard 10mm scraper and the other is an inch wide with the cutting edge running about 2 inches along the side of the chisel for side work. You buy the tool steel blanks from Carbatec, it's very easy to shape the edge and they work as good as a bought scraper.