PDA

View Full Version : Leak near centre board case

mat
16th December 2004, 09:48 AM
As a follow on from my previous thread regarding a repair to my Mirror I have further investigated the problem. There is a bubble (approx 5cm x 5cm) in the top layer of plywood adjacent and in front of the centre board casing on the floor of the boat. Nothing obvious on the undersurface of the boat.

My plan is to take off this top layer of ply with a stanley knife +/- chisel and then put the boat on some saw horses. Then dribble some water into the floor of the boat at the leak site to see where it come out on the outside.

Is this a reasonable approach? Any other ideas?

Obviously I need to fix the problem from both sides and mostly on the outer side.

Daddles
16th December 2004, 10:23 AM
Dunno about putting water into it. I'd start by stripping the paint around the outside of the centre board. You'll have to anyway and I think you'll find it fairly easy to see where the leak is. But I'm a novice at looking after old boats so what would I know?

Richard

journeyman Mick
16th December 2004, 10:37 PM
Mat
if you put water in you'll have to wait for it all to dry out before you can make any repairs. I reckon you'd be better off doing some exploratory surgery to try to find the leak.

Mick

graemet
16th December 2004, 11:04 PM
Hi Matt,