PDA

View Full Version : parketry

Vanelli
22nd December 2004, 09:23 AM
G'Day,

I remember seeing a few years back a show on TV about a guy that made his own parketry using slices of a tree trunk. It was a trunk with an irregular shape, which, when puzzled onto the floor created a very interesting effect. I plan to do the same thing myself. The bad part is that I cannot find any reference back to that show and am a complete novice in this area.
Is anybody able to point me to such a reference, or could advice with regards to things such as:
-does the type of wood matter? How about Cyprus pine?
-how/where could I cut the slices?
-what sort of underlayer would one use?
-what sort of filler would be the most appropriate?
-what sort of primer should be used to reduce absorption and preserve the natural look of the wood?

Any other hints or pieces of information shall be highly appreciated.

Thanks,
Vanelli

Slavo
22nd December 2004, 01:47 PM
In a recent issue of FWW there was an article about this where a guy cut thin slices of a branch on his bandsaw, dried them in a press to keep them flat and used them in a cabinet as a feature (called oystering - I think)

himzol
22nd December 2004, 02:47 PM
In a recent issue of FWW there was an article about this where a guy cut thin slices of a branch on his bandsaw, dried them in a press to keep them flat and used them in a cabinet as a feature (called oystering - I think)

Slavo,

How did he stop them from spliting? or didn't he?

Himzo

Vanelli
22nd December 2004, 07:21 PM
Thanks for the pointer, but indulge my ignorance, what is FWW?

Barry_White
22nd December 2004, 07:37 PM
Fine Wood Working magazine.

outback
22nd December 2004, 07:57 PM
Thanks for the pointer, but indulge my ignorance, what is FWW?
I thought it was F(insert rude word) wheres wally.

Slavo
23rd December 2004, 09:01 AM
Slavo,

How did he stop them from spliting? or didn't he?

Himzo