PDA

View Full Version : The concrete panel shed

jasons673
2nd August 2011, 12:31 PM
Hi all, this shed is something Ive been working on for the last 2 years, it started with 34 meters of concrete panels (2.3 x 6 mtrs) that was used as sound proofing around our plasma cutter at work, these things are bloody noisy , the sound proofing never really worked though. The wall was self supporting with back to back channels and a large base bolted to the floor, 2.3 high that the panels slipped into. The decision was made to move the plasma to another location, the sound proofing wall wasn't needed at the new place. Every time I walked past the wall I thought this would make a great shed, if I could extend the height by 1 meter, and put a roof on it…. Dreaming. The warehouse was eventually rearranged and the wall had to go. As luck would have it we recently had bought some acreage , so I had the space and a need for a big shed. Yep pee I'll have the wall! The deal was done and it was shipped out to my new place.
I worked out I could have a 17 x 10 meter shed ( 6-5-6 bays), with concrete side walls. Off to the main shed builders like ranbuild, tristeel etc to see what they could do for me, after all I only wanted a roof to span 10 mtrs with 1 mtr legs to sit on top of my wall. No one wanted to help. Next step was talking to an engineer, and build the roof our self's. After I got the engineered drawings, submit too council for approval, I went to some fabricators for pricing. Ouch, they came back twice what I expected! The footing were put in with a few drama's these blew out to 12 thousand! Check the rural thread , starting from scratch on my rural block. We planed to live in the shed, while the house was built. Then it came to a grinding halt, the money tree was committed elsewhere. After we moved into the house, the money tree, swang back my way. Below is some of our progress over the last month, more details to come….

Pat
2nd August 2011, 06:55 PM