PDA

View Full Version : Rotting Wood

mat
30th December 2004, 09:32 AM
Is rotten wood like rust or cancer? If the water exposure is stopped does the rot continue? Will epoxy bond to rotten wood?

I think I know the answer but that will require extra work! Is there any chemotherapy available? :(

HappyHammer
30th December 2004, 09:36 AM
I'm no expert mat but I think the real problems start when the moisture goes away and the rot becomes dry rot which can travel quite extensively, through wood and brick. Another problem is that it will attract Termites which are worse than dry rot.

HH.

John Kinnane
2nd January 2005, 11:28 AM
mat, as I understand it wood rot is caused by a fungus and it needs two things to happen, food (wood) & moisture. You need to remove any pulpy soggy wood and treat surrounding area.A heat gun used around suspect area will help kill remaining fungus (also anti freeze will kill it-as posted here in previous discussion).I am in the middle of repairing a Hartley 16' plywood trailer (link here for photos)
http://s8.invisionfree.com/Trailer_Sailers_Oz/index.php?showtopic=3
I have repaired two spots in cabin structure and currently cleaning up inside boat prior to treatment. After all soggy wood ie removed I will treat all bare ares with a penetrating preservative epoxy (Norglas). This is a 1:1 mix and very thin, followed by a two coats of BoteCote 2:1 epoxy mix. All suspect seems and joins will then have an epoxy putty fillet. Also any holes dug into the wood will be filled with epoxy putty. Where you cut plywood out it is easy to replace with new epoxied ply inserts.

Daddles
2nd January 2005, 06:04 PM